My P90X Journey – Day 30: Where We’re Joined by a Guest Tyrant… Um, Trainer

Oh my god, I am tired. Deep to the bone, drop where I’m sitting, tired.

Point of fact, I was so tired that I got only that one sentence down on the screen last night before I couldn’t even form coherent thoughts anymore.

Yes, day 30 was plyo day. Now, plyo day is hard enough, but this was no ordinary plyo day. Allow me to explain…

See, I’ve mentioned before that I’m not on this journey alone – it’s a group effort. It started with Jackie and Ngaio from the musical I did earlier this year, and my fiance Erin and her brother James are doing it as well. We all started at the same time on the Tuesday after the Victoria Day long weekend. The idea was that we’d do our own stuff and support each other online, but that we’d also get together every once in a while to do a group workout when it was time for something like plyometrics.

It took us a while to get our schedules together, but last night was our first group workout. As an added benefit, Jackie’s friend Dave is a personal trainer and P90X survivor… er, graduate, and she arranged for him to come by and put us through our paces. However, this was not Tony Horton’s standard P90X plyo. Dave had his own personal torture he wanted to put us through.

Well, as I said, oh my god. I have never worked out harder in my life. Sweated through my shirt, sweated through my shorts, all but water-logged my shoes. After 30 days, I finally popped my P90X puking cherry. Don’t get me wrong – it’s not like I wanted it to happen, but I am a little surprised it took so long. Just a mean, hard, awful, cruel plyo workout. Didn’t do as well as I would have liked, but I’m frankly just happy that I survived. And if I had the money, I’d be hiring Dave to do it all over again every week. Yes, I’m ill, but you knew that already, right?

Tags:

Leave a Reply

