My P90X Journey – Day 8: Where it Doesn’t Get Any Easier the Second Time Around

Um, ow…

I don’t know what exactly it was that made me think that this was not going to be an especially difficult day. It’s not exactly like the stars were lined up in my favour:

  • I was still feeling day 6 today – a little grab from the right elbow up through the triceps, which lines up perfectly with the upward blocking motion from the kenpo workout.
  • The day got off to a lousy start because of a power outage in our neighborhood – by the time I got to work, I had very little time before a long afternoon meeting, which meant that the day felt completely unproductive.
  • The day 1 version of the chest/back/abs combination wasn’t, y’know, easy or anything. All the various and sundry push-ups were more than a bit of a challenge.

Still, this was the second time around for the exact same workout. I knew what to expect. I thought I knew how to pace myself through the first set of reps so that I’d have enough gas for the second set.

Yeah, I was wrong. Wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong. Wrong to a humbling degree. So brutally wrong that I couldn’t even knock out any reps of a couple of the push-up variations on the second set. All kinds of wrong. Ten different flavours of wrong.

Did I mention I was wrong? Okay, just checking…

Now, Erin did raise a good point. This was the 8th day in a row of between an hour and an hour-and-a-half each day of intense exercise. The theory being it’s not like it should be a shock that there’d be a cumulative effect. Seems reasonable, I suppose.

Still, it wasn’t a total loss. Each time the AbRipper comes around, I’m seeing a bit more progress. Full set of in-and-outs today. Full set of bicycles, although the reverse bicycles are still too much for both my coordination and my hip flexors. Decent number of oblique raises.

And yet, well, ow…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

